+353 51 878 203

Read Past Guest Reviews

Before You Book with Waterford Castle

Read Reviews (153)
(
4.76/5
) based on
153
reviews.

by Maria on Apr 24 2017 11:35

I had booked a lodge on the grounds of the castle to celebrate my husband's birthday with our family. From the moment I made the booking it was a 5 star experience. All the staff in reception were most helpful both in advance and throughout our stay. We were blessed with glorious sunny weather during our trip so we were able to take advantage of what the island had to offer. The boat across was such a lovely addition. The lodge was in pristine condition with high spec appliances. The rooms were spacious, comfortable with beautiful views. Whilst the lodges are self catering, we had afternoon tea on arrival in the castle and I would highly recommend it. We had dinner in the restaurant on two occasions and I have since obtained a yearly subscription to weight watchers for my sins - both the food and service were exemplary. I would like to particularly compliment the young man whose parents live in Murcia, Spain as he was most pleasant and professional in his job. The castle has been beautifully restored and the owner has perfectly managed to balance both nature and the provision of a 5 star service. We will definitely return for a longer stay in the future and my sincere thanks to all the wonderful staff for making our trip such a memorable one!
 
 
 
 
 

by M Egan on Apr 23 2017 09:23

Just came back from the lovely Waterford Castle resort, renting a 3 bed lodge house in the grounds - although the hotel was busy with weddings, we had a great time doing the easter egg hunt with the staff in its beautiful surrounding gardens with deers and the odd pheasant ! The kids liked the playground and tennis court, maybe a swimming pool would be a good addition on the grounds at a later date. It was a good base to go off and discover Waterford, the best part being the lovely fishing village of Dunmore East and the Witbit water course there. We had dinner in the Castle one of the nights and it was first class. I would definitely recommend Waterford Castle again, but just check when the weddings are on ! J Byrne
 
 
 
 
 

by John Bruhn on Apr 9 2017 14:09

What a great experience. From the moment we arrived to departure, every moment was worth recording. I would like to give an extra shout out to the Prince of Mixology, Ilario Alberto Capraro for his presentation of the Fitzgerald Dynasty Cocktail.
 
 
 
 
 

by Monica on Apr 6 2017 20:59

Greatly enjoyed our stay at Waterford Castle. There aren't many times in life when you can experience a real castle - and this did not disappoint. The grounds are lovely - we spent a couple hours doing the the scenic walk - seeing the shore and light house and would recommend it. We stayed in a suite which was gorgeous and way more space than we could ever need - a definite treat. We also had dinner at the resataurant in the castle - amazing service. After dinner, we spent some time in the bar taking in the atmosphere and having some amazing concoctions by the bartender who is definitely a master. All in all had a lovely time - would definitely recommend!
 
 
 
 
 

by Erika Valle on Mar 29 2017 14:42

BEAUTIFUL castle!!! We stayed in one of the deluxe suite and it was amazing! I was really sad to leave! :) I loved this castle so much, just absolutely beautiful and wonderful, friendly staff. If I am ever in Ireland again, I will definitely come back to the Waterford castle and stay a few nights.
 
 
 
 
 

by Terri on Mar 28 2017 17:03

Waterford Castle was an amazing place to visit. We booked the Suir Suite and it was incredible. The rooms were spacious and the bed is extremely comfortable. There is an enormous claw foot tub - big enough for two. The 5 course gourmet dinner was excellent and the service was impeccable. Rodel, our waiter, and Antonio, the maitre'd went out of their way to provide extraordinary service. I am a very picky eater and Rodel went out of his way to arrange a special breakfast for me the next day. We cannot say enough about the service we received and the beautiful suite we had. We have stayed in many luxury hotels in Ireland and Waterford Castle is at the top of the list.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer96389925 on Mar 28 2017 15:53

A warm welcome and at the end of the magical winding driveway, an unexpected stately old world charm loomed from behind the line of trees. Behind the door of our lodge awaited welcoming heat and all kinds of modern comforts. Memories were made.
 
 
 
 
 

by Emily on Mar 26 2017 19:10

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Waterford Castle. It was a unique experience taking the ferry to the island and staying in the castle that we will cherish for years to come! From the moment of arrival, we were greeted with friendly, helpful staff and in awe of the structural beauty the castle has to offer. Our room was nothing short of amazing as well. The continental breakfast was the perfect touch to end our stay. We highly recommend "splurging" for a night in the castle, although we did find the rates to be very reasonable for the experience and complimentary breakfast.
 
 
 
 
 

by Julie on Mar 21 2017 12:47

We had a wonderful stay at Waterford Castle. My family had two rooms in the castle for an evening. Took a nice walk around the island in the afternoon. Golf course and lodges also appeared to be well worth a visit. During our stay we enjoyed a delightful dinner in the dining room as well as a scrumptious breakfast in the solarium the following morning. Good memories were made! We talked about the castle and food the remainder of the trip. We hope to return someday for a longer visit!
 
 
 
 
 

by Mistty Alger on Mar 19 2017 08:51

Had a lovely stay at the Castle Hotel in one of the suites. The beds are comfortable and the rooms beautifully furnished with giant claw foot tubs in the bathroom. The staff is friendly and helpful and the grounds are beautiful to walk. The included breakfast buffet is tasty and served in a beautiful solarium.
 
 
 
 
 

by PJ Berry on Mar 14 2017 08:04

I was looking for a rather special venue to celebrate a significant birthday and we most assuredly found it. An absolute delight, location, ambiance, food and service all worthy of a five star rating. Our only regret was it was for one night only, so a repeat visit is being seriously considered.
 
 
 
 
 

by Frank on Mar 6 2017 13:57

What an incredible experience: from check in to check out! We can not say enough about how special all the staff made us feel and the accommodations were fantastic! I totally recommend this beautiful castle when you are looking for a romantic get away! We will be back and we hope that the staff that took such great care of us will still be there...if not I am SURE there will be equally as special of staff as was there this stay! Thank you all very much and I wish you all the most in happiness and success...in that order!
 
 
 
 
 

by Cate on Mar 1 2017 22:09

Really enjoyed our King and Queen experience in Waterford Castle. The food was to die for and the comfort of our Suite was second to none.The Old World setting made us feel as if we had gone back in time. Looking forward to a future visit. Cate and Dee
 
 
 
 
 

by Pauline Meany on Mar 1 2017 09:07

We stayed during the summer in the lodges and also last week and will come back again. Kids loved it and we enjoyed it too. We loved the peacefulness and the fact that it was very safe for the kids. Houses were well equipped and suitable for kids. We have 4 kids under 8 and all loved it , the walks , deer , tennis and playground even the ferry ride over! Also an ideal location as very close to plenty of amenities as well as things to do in local area We will come back during the summer and will look forward to it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mac on Mar 1 2017 07:28

Absolutely fabulous hotel. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food absolutely 100% and as for the room couldn't fine one fault . Couldn't ask for any more on our stay .
 
 
 
 
 

LouderVoice and LouderYou
Scroll Down