+353 51 878 203

Read Past Guest Reviews

Before You Book with Waterford Castle

Read Reviews (164)
(
4.77/5
) based on
164
reviews.

by Julie Lewis on May 30 2017 20:38

Absolutely stunning location, fabulous surroundings and great care taken in the castle to make guests feel welcome etc. Only comment we would make is that breakfast felt a little rushed for some reason. Cooked food was being brought from the kitchen and placed in front of us before we had finished eating cereal/fruit etc. This happened on all 3 mornings and was a little off putting. In spiet of this I would recommend highly to others.
 
 
 
 
 

by Terry Prahl on May 27 2017 21:32

We really loved the castle and the grounds. They were beautiful. The service was great and staff very friendly. The food was excellent (we had dinner and breakfast there) The only complaint is that things need updating. A lot of areas with paint chipping and furniture either needing replacement or refinishing Rooms definitely need new carpeting This could easily be a 5 star resort!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Melanie cramer on May 26 2017 09:50

A fairy tale for sure. Everyone should stay at Waterford castle at least once in a lifetime.
 
 
 
 
 

by Gerald Nugent on May 21 2017 11:33

We stayed from Friday 28th April until Monday 1st May at the Lodges number 48. On arrival at the dock it felt like an adventure going over to the island. Check in was quick and efficient with friendly helpful staff who pointed us in the direction of our lodge. We were amazed at the size of the accommodation at the lodge which easily accommodated our party of five. It was very tranquil and one morning we woke to see deer not too far from our lodge. We didn't get to eat at the Castle restaurant due to a wedding, however we do hope to return in the future. This is the place to come to relax and unwind.
 
 
 
 
 

by John Reid on May 19 2017 19:55

Our stay last week end was everything we expected from the special offer we received. The hotel and it's surroundings were very pleasant and I particularly enjoyed the one hour walk around the island / golf course which had a well maintained path to follow. Dinner which was included in our package and the service was made most pleasant by the multinational staff who were exceptionally attentive to our needs. John & Jackie Reid
 
 
 
 
 

by MM on May 16 2017 02:39

The castle was beautiful. Our unit was perfect. Very clean and functional. Took out dinner from the gold club...delicious. Lovely island. Will definitely be back!
 
 
 
 
 

by Em keating on May 9 2017 19:20

An outstanding venue with great people. Hard to beat. We spent one night and dined in the castle while on vacation in Ireland. The whole island was spectacular and the castle was superb. The staff however are what makes the place. They were all superb.
 
 
 
 
 

by Nuala Palmer on May 7 2017 19:33

My husband and I have stayed here on three separate occasions and had our wedding their on the 31st of March 2017. On you 1st two visits to Waterford castle we stayed in the lodges! These were very clean and comfortable and a lot bigger than I had imagined. The food in the castle is delicious and at a very high standard for every meal. Breakfast in the conservatory was my absolute fav, delicious! Due to the fact we had our wedding here we were able to see all of the bedrooms in the castle and I'm happy to say each one is as unique and gorgeous as the next! The only difference being the size. The staff are always very friendly and are happy to go out of their way to help you in anyway they can. Our wedding was everything we wanted it to be. Gillian the wedding co-ordinater was friendly, professional and there for our every need from the minute we booked it as our venue. Our guests have all told us how good all the staff were and how amazing the food was. I would highly recommend Waterford Castle for a break away or as a wedding venue, we are already looking forward to our next stay there.
 
 
 
 
 

by Greg Agresta on May 7 2017 08:40

Wow does not begin to express our experience at Waterford Castle. The castle itself is stunning both inside and out. The grounds are beautiful and fun to explore. Our room was spectacular. Waterford castle leaves nothing to chance. Every detail is accounted for and it's done perfectly. Are our stay at the castle was truly an experience to remember.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer48101976 on May 5 2017 17:34

Loved every moment of staying at the castle once crossed on ferry and arrived just felt ambiance of the place. Loved the food, golf course and lovely walks around the island. Added bonus weather was gorgeous. Would highly recommend - real treat.
 
 
 
 
 

by Brady McCann on May 1 2017 15:27

This is a wonderful place.
 
 
 
 
 

by Maria on Apr 24 2017 11:35

I had booked a lodge on the grounds of the castle to celebrate my husband's birthday with our family. From the moment I made the booking it was a 5 star experience. All the staff in reception were most helpful both in advance and throughout our stay. We were blessed with glorious sunny weather during our trip so we were able to take advantage of what the island had to offer. The boat across was such a lovely addition. The lodge was in pristine condition with high spec appliances. The rooms were spacious, comfortable with beautiful views. Whilst the lodges are self catering, we had afternoon tea on arrival in the castle and I would highly recommend it. We had dinner in the restaurant on two occasions and I have since obtained a yearly subscription to weight watchers for my sins - both the food and service were exemplary. I would like to particularly compliment the young man whose parents live in Murcia, Spain as he was most pleasant and professional in his job. The castle has been beautifully restored and the owner has perfectly managed to balance both nature and the provision of a 5 star service. We will definitely return for a longer stay in the future and my sincere thanks to all the wonderful staff for making our trip such a memorable one!
 
 
 
 
 

by M Egan on Apr 23 2017 09:23

Just came back from the lovely Waterford Castle resort, renting a 3 bed lodge house in the grounds - although the hotel was busy with weddings, we had a great time doing the easter egg hunt with the staff in its beautiful surrounding gardens with deers and the odd pheasant ! The kids liked the playground and tennis court, maybe a swimming pool would be a good addition on the grounds at a later date. It was a good base to go off and discover Waterford, the best part being the lovely fishing village of Dunmore East and the Witbit water course there. We had dinner in the Castle one of the nights and it was first class. I would definitely recommend Waterford Castle again, but just check when the weddings are on ! J Byrne
 
 
 
 
 

by John Bruhn on Apr 9 2017 14:09

What a great experience. From the moment we arrived to departure, every moment was worth recording. I would like to give an extra shout out to the Prince of Mixology, Ilario Alberto Capraro for his presentation of the Fitzgerald Dynasty Cocktail.
 
 
 
 
 

by Monica on Apr 6 2017 20:59

Greatly enjoyed our stay at Waterford Castle. There aren't many times in life when you can experience a real castle - and this did not disappoint. The grounds are lovely - we spent a couple hours doing the the scenic walk - seeing the shore and light house and would recommend it. We stayed in a suite which was gorgeous and way more space than we could ever need - a definite treat. We also had dinner at the resataurant in the castle - amazing service. After dinner, we spent some time in the bar taking in the atmosphere and having some amazing concoctions by the bartender who is definitely a master. All in all had a lovely time - would definitely recommend!
 
 
 
 
 

LouderVoice and LouderYou
Scroll Down