+353 51 878 203

Read Past Guest Reviews

Before You Book with Waterford Castle

Read Reviews (115)
(
4.77/5
) based on
115
reviews.

by Jon Petersen on Aug 23 2016 17:27

My wife and I booked a two night stay in August 2016 and could not have enjoyed our experience any more. First, the staff is truly exceptional. Without exception they were incredibly kind and helpful throughout. Second, the resort was an experience we will not forget. The accommodation was excellent where we enjoyed a spacious and comfortable room in the castle. We fell in love with the grounds that provide a tranquil setting and plenty of room to enjoy a nice walk. I played a round of golf one morning and really enjoyed the course which was well maintained and very fun to play. The clubs provided by the rental set were nicer than my clubs at home - another nice surprise! The clubhouse also provided a nice venue to enjoy a Guinness after the round. The restaurant provided us with a top-notch experience wowing us both at the quality of cuisine. The only suggestion I have for improvement is that we noted some of the furniture in our suite was a bit outdated. We will definitely return some day. I highly recommend this property for anyone remotely considering a lovely getaway to the scenic southern coast!
 
 
 
 
 

by Mona Bowen on Aug 21 2016 22:30

Hi We had a lovely time dining in the castle and the food was delicious . I was disappointed that the four poster bed was only a double I was expecting at least a king. Also the heat in the room was much to warm we actually got no sleep as it was so warm, we were delighted with the weather we got two lovely days. The castle is situated in a lovely setting. Warm regards, Mona Bowen
 
 
 
 
 

by Marian on Aug 20 2016 20:44

Great modern lodges with lots of space and bathroom/shower for each room in the house. Great facilities! Beds a little small...Beautiful location!
 
 
 
 
 

by Andy on Aug 15 2016 12:42

Five-star service, five-star venue
 
 
 
 
 

by Chris Fry on Aug 13 2016 15:20

We loved our time at Waterford Castle. we had the King & Queen of the Castle - Two Night Break package staying in the Executive Suite. We loved the suite, we felt like we really were king & queen of the castle. Both the bedroom and living room were tastefully decorated in period style, the bathroom, with its clawfoot bathtub was divine, the view from the windows was fantastic. We did not leave the island during our stay. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts, dinner both nights plus afternoon tea. The presentation of the dishes was outstanding, the quality of the food very high, the service first rate. All the staff, at every moment of our stay were very helpful and friendly. We loved walking around the island, seeing the deer and just unwinding in this idyllic setting. Unfortunately we where deposed just 2 days into our reign and now being king and queen is a wonderful memory that we will have with us for years to come.Thanks to all the wonderful members of staff at Waterford Castle for making our stay memorable.
 
 
 
 
 

by PussInBoots on Aug 4 2016 08:50

Lovely place, really enjoyed our time here. We stayed in the lodge which was very comfortable for 5 people.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lorna on Aug 3 2016 10:16

Had a fabulous stay, staff extremely helpful, the lodges are peaceful and the island is just magical, would definitely recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by Colm Mulhall on Jul 26 2016 12:25

The lodges are very well kept and staff are very helpful this was our second time to stay here and we will be booking for next year the golf course is well kept played nine holes while there and will do again. went to BQ on Thursday and what a meal we had well worth it. Regards . Mulhall Famaily.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sheree on Jul 19 2016 18:02

Had a great holiday staying at the lodges. Our family booked three lodges and we were all beside each other with nothing behind us but the beautiful scenery. It was lovely wakening up to see the deer out the back every morning. We will definitely be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ed+Caryn on Jul 12 2016 18:21

The Castle was everything we could have possibly imagined. On its own island, the ferry was no problem at all and actually added a bit to the experience. The castle itself was spectacular. Dinner was delicious and drinks in the bar afterwards outstanding. Both the dining room and the bar have oak panels that feel like they have been there for centuries. For sure, the carvings by the bar are not like anything being done today. You just can't help being happy here. The staff was very nice and willing to suffer our requests for picture taking without a hint of a problem. The Suir Suite is spectacular. It made us feel like we were transported back in time - in all of the good ways! We took a walk around the grounds and they are just beautiful. We just can't say enough good things about this experience. Not something we could afford to do too often, but absolutely worth it for a special occasion.
 
 
 
 
 

by kathy on Jul 11 2016 20:35

Even though we only stayed 1 night during our Honeymoon in Ireland, Waterford exceeded our expectations. We were given an upgrade to a 2 rooms suite which was beautiful. The grounds, restaurants and service were perfect. The only thing I would recommend is the claw foot tub, which is beautiful in concept but very hard to shower in. The draped curtains make it very difficult to move around in.
 
 
 
 
 

by BArb on Jul 6 2016 02:59

Beautiful room and site! We loved staying here! The dinner was fabulous as well. A bit pricey but nice for a treat.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mike Greenway on Jul 3 2016 08:24

We enjoyed our stay at Waterford Castle. We were very impressed with the luxurious atmosphere created by the large room, high ceilings, poster bed and antiques. The bathroom with the hanging water tank for the toilet and the painted toilet, claw tooth tub, not too mention the size of the bathroom added to our appreciation for our stay. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. I certainly would recommend this as a venue for my friends. Thank you Mike and Elizabeth Greenway
 
 
 
 
 

by Kim Bishop on Jun 22 2016 16:13

My family of 4 stayed at the castle for 2 nights and had a great experience. The castle is a wonderful size, not too big and comfortable and cozy. The staff was extremely helpful and hospitable. Our room was like its own apartment. The food in the Munster room was delicious. We played golf one day as well and really enjoyed the course. The overall experience as wonderful!! Kim from Celina Texas
 
 
 
 
 

by Andi on Jun 17 2016 17:09

We had a lovely stay at Waterford Castle Resort. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful and the cocktails were amazing, best I had during my trip to Ireland. I highly recommend a stay at Waterford. One item to note however, the rooms don't have air conditioning so it can get quite hot.
 
 
 
 
 

LouderVoice and LouderYou
Scroll Down