+353 51 878 203

Read Past Guest Reviews

Before You Book with Waterford Castle

Read Reviews (205)
(
4.78/5
) based on
205
reviews.

by Maxine & David on Sep 17 2017 20:07

Our son treated us to a nights accommodation in your Executive Suite the room is superb and we felt very spoilt with our own lounge, large bathroom and big comfy bed. We had been touring Ireland for 6 days and using local B&B hospitality until we left Ireland after a total of 10 days. The hospitality at your resort was exceptional from check in staff, porter, and a lovely young chap in your Fitzgerald room where we enjoyed a light dinner & drink. Friendly guests and a large central lounge area with a big warm fire. We were particularly taken by the ferry ride that took us to and from the the island. We would love to stay again!! Maxine & David Hale, New Zealand
 
 
 
 
 

by Bernie on Sep 11 2017 17:19

Our experience at Waterford Castle was wonderful! The grounds were beautiful and the Castle Hotel was top notch. When we arrived, there was a fire in the fire place to take the chill from the misty air outside. Katie received us and was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and exquisitely decorated. My wife had the filet of beef for dinner, while I had the veal. Both were delicious. The chef sent out a sample appetizer that evening, free gratis, to accompany the bottle of wine we purchased to go with our dinner. The desserts were quite tasty too; chocolate mousse for my wife and a banana rum concoction for myself. The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast, with fruits and pastries. We hope to return again!
 
 
 
 
 

by Rachael Notsch on Sep 11 2017 13:58

Had an amazing time at Waterford, got engaged on our romantic picnic. Staff was extremely nice and loved the food!
 
 
 
 
 

by Tara Collins-Coates on Sep 5 2017 17:07

As a fellow hotelier, it is difficult to travel without noticing a myriad of things 'not quite right' that non-industry people would never notice. Even the best hotels/resorts generally have something that falls short. Which is why it is so incredible when I can say my stay at your resort was one of the best I have EVER had. Every detail from check in to our departure was exceptional. The ferry crossing and lovely drive leading to the entrance provided an arrival experience that delighted us and made us anticipate our stay. The castle and grounds are gorgeous - the photos really do not do them justice. Check in went smoothly, quickly, and we felt welcomed. When we walked into The Rose Suite I was speechless. Stunning accommodations and prepared for our arrival with lamps and chandeliers lit to showcase the beautiful decor. This middle-aged woman felt like Cinderella! We could see deer from our windows! Dinner in the Munster Dining Room completely exceeded our expectations. I've spent many dinners prepared by award-winning chefs politely pushing food around a plate. Not here. Every bite was to savor. Perfect balance of flavors, 'real' food, and enticing presentation. The restaurant staff was attentive but not intrusive - so many restaurants could learn from this. We felt like honored guests having dinner in the (extremely elegant) home of friends. Breakfast was located in a beautiful room with windows overlooking the gardens and grounds. White tablecloths, staff (again) very attentive but not intrusive, and an excellent menu offering many options. Possibly the best Eggs Benedict I've ever had. Turndown service each evening and housekeeping provided nice touches. Dinner the second evening at the golf club. Casual and fun atmosphere with good food. When we checked out, the young man at the desk was so helpful. We weren't sure of driving directions and he was kind enough to print them for us and make suggestions! The level of service and overall guest experience was exceptional - we've been raving about it to all of our friends and family. Thank you for a stay that was memorable and one of the most enjoyable we've ever had. If I can make a suggestion, if you know a local artist who could create a watercolor print of the castle/grounds this is something you could certainly sell to guests. I would love to have a framed print of your stunning location that would remind me of our time there. Again, thanks! Tara Collins-Coates
 
 
 
 
 

by Russ T on Aug 25 2017 23:02

Truly a gem in Waterford. Secluded island with golf, castle, and fine dinning doesn't get any better. Thanks for all.
 
 
 
 
 

by Rose Cairns. on Aug 24 2017 10:05

Really enjoyed our stay in Waterford Castle, only complaint, it was too short ! Beautiful room, friendly staff, great food and beautiful walks on the grounds. We will definitely return for a longer stay in the near future .
 
 
 
 
 

by John Duane on Aug 16 2017 12:18

Our daughters wedding recently took place at the castle. We could not praise the place enough, a stunning setting, wonderful staff, excellent food and unbelievable attention to detail. Fond memories all round, never to be forgotten for us. John and Deirdre Duane.
 
 
 
 
 

by Luciano on Aug 16 2017 09:19

Lodge is spacious, quiet and clean. A very relaxing place. Unfortunately we had an internet line that worked wery slowly, sometimes was impossible to connect to websites or to receive mails. Kitchen has a few pots, not enough to cook a good dinner. In any case a pleasant and relaxing stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul Cummings on Aug 15 2017 17:07

We would like to thank Gillian and all of the staff at Waterford Castle for making our wedding day so special and for all of their support and guidance in the lead up to and including the day itself. Every member of staff was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble and they really made us feel at ease. I stayed in one of the lodges the night before the wedding and I have to say I was not expecting for the lodge to be so spacious, it is like a house on it's own and had 3 bedrooms, dining room/kitchen and living area as well as a lovely rear and front garden. On the night of our wedding we stayed in the presidential suite and to be honest words fail me, the room itself was breath-taking and was so spacious and clean. I was massively impressed with the amount of room that we got and how beautifully the room was decorated. To be honest we did a tour of the whole castle and all of the rooms were really impressive and well presented. The staff at Waterford Castle even thought of the smaller details such as arranging for a beautiful cake and two small bottles of prosecco and two glasses to be left in our room the night of the wedding so that we could have a drink together. Also, on the morning after the wedding staff contacted us on the room telephone number to ask if we would like breakfast brought to the room, which we thought was fantastic. It really is the smaller things that make the biggest difference and we cannot thank all of the staff enough for everything. Waterford Castle will always hold a special place in our memories and our hearts and we will definitely be visiting again and cannot recommend the resort highly enough, it literally is the most amazing place that we have stayed and all of the staff cannot be recommended enough. Thank you all once again for everything. Mr and Mrs Paul Cummings
 
 
 
 
 

by Shane on Aug 10 2017 16:30

We stayed on Sunday 6th August, I cannot praise the venue, ambiance and the staff attention to detail enough. It truly is a stunning venue in every way. The Maître d'hôtel and Bar Manager were very informative and a pleasure to talk with during the night, as were all of the staff. The rooms are fantastic and the food was superb (especially the desserts), but, it is the grounds and castle itself that steals the show.
 
 
 
 
 

by Kari Broghamer on Aug 9 2017 19:31

We felt like we were living a fairy tale - lovely grounds and room. The food was excellent and service outstanding. We would definitely recommend this property for anyone looking for this type of experience. Thank you so much!
 
 
 
 
 

by char on Aug 8 2017 20:24

We had a wonderful stay at the Waterford Castle. Our room was huge with great views. The only downside was the small bathroom with a tub and shower that took some maneuvering to get inside. We had dinner in the restaurant that was very good with matching service. I will not forget the mushroom soup!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Lewis Marshall on Aug 7 2017 20:34

You can't go to Waterford and not stay at the Castle. It is fabulous. The check in process was flawless. The Castle is authentic. The Lodges are great if you have a large family. We had 4 bed rooms overlooking the golf course. We played 18 holes. The Golf Club provided clubs which were great quality. The course was excellent and challenging. We extended our stay by 2 days because the experience was so great. The Munster restaurant dinner was nothing short of perfection. What a meal! We will be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Cherie on Aug 6 2017 19:50

Excellent service! Seriously top notch they went above and beyond. Staying here was a very unique and fun occasion.
 
 
 
 
 

by Margaret on Aug 5 2017 15:30

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The atmosphere and ambience were wonderful and the grounds are stunning.Lovely to see the deer just wandering about the place they truly own it.Fantastic food and even better drinks.
 
 
 
 
 

LouderVoice and LouderYou
Scroll Down